Driving Safety Course
Not for commercial driver license holders. You may be eligible to request that a charge be dismissed by taking a Certified Driving Safety Course. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the Court of your desire to do so on or before your court date. Do not take the course before you have obtained permission from the court.
- You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest.
- You must possess a valid Texas Driver's License.
- You must possess Texas Automobile Liability Insurance valid the day of your request.
- You cannot be charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per hour.
- You cannot currently be taking the course for another citation.
- Your Driving Record cannot reflect completion of a Driving Safety Course within 12 months preceding the date of the alleged offense.
You may order a driving record at the Texas Department of Public Safety (Form 3A at Texas.gov). You must provide the Court with an Affidavit for a Driving Safety Course and a Sworn Request for Driver Safety Course that must be notarized and filed with the Court on or before your court date. If you appear in person at the Court Clerk's Office, please bring your valid Texas driver's license, proof of insurance (showing coverage on the date you received the citation and the date of your request), and a non-refundable administrative fee. There is no cost for notarizing the Court affidavit. Upon Court approval to take the course, you will have 90 days in which to provide the Court with the following documents:
- The "Court Certificate" of completion of the Driving Safety Course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency.
- A certified copy of your Driving Record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
If both of these documents are not filed with the Court within 90 days, you will be responsible for paying the remainder of your fine and a conviction for the offense will be reported to the Texas DPS.